Posted by: petsweekly | March 21, 2012

An Open Invitation to Mitt Romney

Image

Photo by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

Many of you probably saw (or heard) Mitt Romney’s doggy gaff that focused on his long-deceased Irish setter named Seamus. If you missed it, here’s a quick summary:

Romney recently told a story about his family’s one-time Irish setter named Seamus to an obviously flabbergasted reporter. Nearly 25 years ago, Romney embarked on a 12-hour road trip from Massachusetts to Canada with his wife and five young sons. With all of the luggage and kids, there was little room to spare in his station wagon, so he placed Seamus the dog onto the roof of his car and headed up north.  While Seamus survived the trip on the roof, the Romney kids recall that their family dog had a severe diarrhea attack (little wonder as the trip probably scared the shit out of the animal). Undaunted by the rain of poop, Romney found a gas station where he could hose down his pet (and his vehicle).

Although the notorious road trip happened years ago, Romney brought it up in a 2007 interview with Fox news, and repeatedly addresses the issue (in an unapologetic way, I may add) which has resulted in the press (and dog lovers throughout the world) rightly latching on to the story. It’s become the subject of many character attacks and according to insiders, Romney is growling mad that dog lovers won’t let it go.

Here’s the thing, Mitt. We won’t let it go because you won’t apologize and use the incident to educate people on how to properly travel with pets. An example of your response can be found in a recent interview with Chris Wallace of Fox TV: “This was a completely airtight kennel mounted on the top of our car. He climbed up there regularly… We had five kids inside the car; my guess is that he liked it a lot better on there (than with the kids).”

While our first instinct was to go on a Romney-bashing rampage and join the multiple Facebook pages and websites that range from titles such as http://www.DogsAgainstRomney.com we took a step back and decided that as animal-loving adults who focus our efforts on training and education, it’s perhaps a good time to offer our services to this incumbent. Why? Because over the years, we have discovered that many people are as ignorant as Romney. So it seems only fair to offer Romney an opportunity to learn.

Open Invitation: And so, this is an open invitation to Mitt Romney. Give us a call and we will be happy to demonstrate the proper way to travel with your pets. In fact, I’m pretty sure we can even locate the proper equipment to get you set up for road trips with pets. It would be a great opportunity for you to educate millions of people and if you get elected (unlikely unless you make a concerted effort on this cause), you could even change some of the outdated laws on pet travel and place a new emphasis on safe travel with pets.

If you decide you don’t have time for a lesson in pet travel, we are also including some important information here as well. Here are the first rules of traveling with animals:

  1. Pets must remain inside of vehicle while vehicle is in motion. This seems like it should be obvious, but as Romney has clearly illustrated, its not. Pets belong inside of the vehicle: not on top of, tied to the back of, or hanging head outside of the automobile.
  2. Pets must be secured at all times. Just as it is a law that humans wear seat belts, and children sit in car seats, it is a law (or at least strongly recommended) that pets be secured during travel. There are many ways you can do this. Some of the most popular methods of securing pets are:
  • Zip Line and Harness
  • Pet Auto Seat
  • Harness and Seatbelt
  • Pet Carrier

3. Pets should ride in the back seat: Pets do not belong on your lap, in the passenger side of the auto, or on the floor of the front seat. Why? Because you don’t want to turn little Fluffy into your own personal airbag, you don’t want an actual airbag to crush your pet, and you don’t want to see your pet go through the front window. The best place for your pet in the car is securely fastened in the middle or back seat.

Meanwhile Mitt, our doggy door is always open if you have any questions on the best way to travel with pets, it would be our honor to assist you in proper pet travel security. We certainly hope you take us up on the offer to help – it just may be that your political career could depend on it.

Responses

  1. This is an excellent post, and I agree with you that this offers an excellent education opportunity. I hope you don’t mind if I share this post. (oh, and yes, I have joined the facebook page DogsAgainstRomeny, and highly recommend it. It’s another way of gaining attention to further educate the masses.)

    • Happy to have you share this! I think the more we can get word out on traveling with pets, the better off all of our animals will be.

  2. Yes, this is an opportunity to educate people about the proper way to travel with animals. I also wonder if Seamus was neutered. It would be a good time to bestow the virtues of having pets spayed & neutered….and to adopt a dog from a shelter instead of buying from a breeder.

    That being said, I am a die hard Republican and the fact that Mitt won’t apologize or even come close to admitting he was wrong (I’ve heard that he still chuckles about the incident, much to my infuriation), I will NOT be voting for Mitt if he get the Republican nomination. In fact, I won’t be voting at all since I can’t stand Obama. Sad day, all around, in my opinion.

  3. Great post. I hope it is ok if I reblog it on my blog. Sometimes it takes a really stupid act to learn. Thank you for taking one of his and using it as a teaching opportunity for all pet owners.
    This incident is one of many reasons I will not vote for Romney. Take it from a working class poor Massachusettsite. He is a pompous ass who has no clue how most of the population lives.

    • Thanks so much for the mention and repost! Hopefully we can bring some attention to this matter and use it to increase awareness on traveling with pets. Looking forward to future posts from you! You may also like my “writer” blog at: http://stacymantle.wordpress.com

      • Stacy I hope it helps educate others. So many of us travel with our pets now. Gotta keep them safe too.
        Definitely going to read your writer blog. Congratulation on Shepherd’s Moon. I really need to get my act together and order a copy.

  4. Reblogged this on Ramblin Ann's Blog and commented:
    Well so much for keeping to a schedule to make me more productive. Yup I made it through Monday, but here it is Wednesday evening and my scheduled post about one of the top three has not even been rough drafted.

    I would like to blame it on my friends and family. They started my birthday celebration (I did mention to them that I don’t do birthdays) on Friday of last week. It finally ended today, I hope. I ate and drank too much. Mostly foods I haven’t been eating. Cake and frosting and cupcakes and frosting. Not to mention some Creme Brulee, which I don’t know how to spell. A couple different kinds of Martinis, some Captains, and a lot of Sex on the Beach. It was fun and I really love everyone for making my 50th memorable, but the time has come to put my nose back to the grindstone.

    Because I have approached today totally unprepared I am going to reblog from Petsweekly. It’s an important issue for dog owners and I thought it would be good to bring it to the fore front again. Let me know what you think.


Leave a Reply

Categories

