Posted by: petsweekly | January 17, 2012

8 Myths About Pet Bloggers

It’s 2012 and I’m feeling a bit “snarky” these days. Figured this might be a good time to finally dispel some rumors about pet bloggers/writers.

Myth 1. Pet bloggers only write to get free stuff: Let me tell you a little something about free stuff: In the end, it’s just stuff. Sure, we love getting a first look at the newest pet chews, technological gadgets for pets, and ensuring our pets have the latest apps. But, after awhile, it’s just one more thing that has to be dealt with or disposed of. So you can trust me when I say that the free stuff is not the focus of any pet-writer worth his/her salt.

We write because we love animals and we want what is best for them, and if we can educate even one other person about the best ways to make their elderly pet comfortable, or their young pets easier to handle, or provide a single tool that helps a person keep a pet in their home – then we’ve feel as though we’ve succeeded.

Myth 2. All pet bloggers are pet experts: This is a dangerous myth… Writers are just writers, and writers are notorious for making facts fit where we need them. I’m not saying we make things up because that would be wrong, but for every study you find online that something is bad, I can show you five studies saying that same thing is good. (For example, don’t even get me started on the benefits of vegan diets for pets!)

We write about our personal opinions, experience and history with animals. Some of us have more experience than others, and while I would like to think that we are experts, the fact remains that we are not. Being an expert takes years and years of study, complete and utter focus, countless hours of experimentation. None of us have that. So, take any advice you get online with a grain of salt. Do your research and never, ever rely on only one opinion – because let’s face it – opinion is all it is.

Myth 3. Pet bloggers are “Know it alls”: Well, there is a little truth to this. Sure, we have a bit of attitude. But, what blogger doesn’t? We often have to deal with arrogance within our chosen field, answer questions that (I promise) you would NOT want to have to answer from people who know very little about pets, and we still have to balance (some) demanding vendors and marketing agencies who pay us nothing for extensive marketing. We’ve earned attitude.

Myth 4. Pet Blogging is not a real profession: We’re in a $50 billion industry. We are the people that consumers trust for advice about their pets, the products their pets play with, and the food their pets eat. This is as real as it gets.

Myth 5. Pet bloggers like to cause trouble: We don’t like to cause trouble, we just sort of naturally find it. For example, I’m sure I’ll end up in all kinds of trouble for writing this blog post. Do I care? Sure – I want people to like me. I like being liked and I hate being hated. But, I also think that certain things need to be said and I’m a writer. That makes it my job to say the things that everyone is thinking and no one wants to hear.

Myth 6. Blogging is easy money: First of all, the only easy money I’ve ever seen in my life is during the years I was employed by a large corporation. That’s it. Writing, blogging, drawing – none of that is easy. Think it is? Give it a shot. Go ahead, I dare you…

Myth 7. Page views equal success: False. There are many types of traffic and some bloggers don’t even know what kind they have – occasionally, even if they do know, they will lie about it anyway. While it’s true that more views equal more exposure and ultimately more name recognition, it doesn’t necessarily mean that you’re running a successful website. Know your audience, know your writers.

Myth 8. Bloggers will endorse anything for money: False. Okay, well it’s sometimes true. I guess it depends on the blogger. In my case, I’m very cautious about what I attach my name too. It has to be a product I am comfortable using on my own pets (and I have a very high standard for my pets). I don’t know what other bloggers will/will not endorse. I do know what I won’t endorse, and that is anything that is potentially dangerous to pets, of poor quality, or serves no purpose (besides clothes for pets). Period.

Responses

  1. “Page views equal success: False.” THANK YOU!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

