Posted by: petsweekly | August 22, 2011

My 7 Links

Last week, I was very excited to be tagged by Joanne McGonagle (of TheTiniestTiger and ConservationCubClub fame) to be a part of The 7 Links TripBase Blog Post Project. As part of this “pay it forward” project, we get to profile 7 links from our own sites. Then we nominate 5 of our most favorite blogs. They get to do this in turn. And so, without further ado, allow me to enlighten you on a few of our best posts.

MOST BEAUTIFUL POST: Do Animals Have Souls

I’m not sure I call it beautiful, but it is passionate – and to me, that’s the same thing. This article has now been published in 7 languages (that I know of) and it has made the journey around email to a point where I even received it from a friend (and I was the author!).  It was written in the “heat of passion” after a coworker told me that my dog of 17 years would not go to Heaven.

I beg to differ…

MOST CONTROVERSIAL POST: Snake Aversion Therapy

Not everyone agrees with me or my site all the time, but that’s okay. I still love my readers and welcome a little controversy once in awhile. One of our most controversial posts was about snake aversion therapy and the use of static correction collars (aka shock collars). I stand behind my position on the use of shock collars for snake training. It’s a 3 second level of discomfort with the end result being a dog who understand how dangerous rattlesnakes can be. If you’ve ever seen a snakebite, I think you’ll be more inclined to agree with me on the use of shock collars in snake training. That said, our most controversial post was this one: Snake Aversion Therapy

MOST HELPFUL POST: The Computer Guide for Cat Lovers

This was a fun post for our feline friends and their caretakers. We know how much computers (and mice) fascinate them, so this was a post that we thought would make you a little more feline computer literate.

POST WHOSE SUCCESS SURPRISED YOU: Two Men And A BearandWeird Searches

It always scares me when a post is super successful. These were two of the more surprising success stories. These posts were sarcastic posts I did about a guy who got eaten by a bear after smoking dope and the weird searches that bring people to my site.  Apparently, sarcasm sells.

POST THAT DIDN”T GET THE ATTENTION IT DESERVED: Wolves and Coyotes in Arizona

This was a post that sort of combined a weekend getaway with an educational summary about wolves and coyotes in Arizona. I think it was a good one and I wish people would stop shooting them.

POST MOST PROUD OF: Funeral For A Friend

When I lost Tristan last year, it was one of the more difficult times of my life. Tristan was my best friend and the inspiration for a lot of stories. Since he was part coyote, he always generated a little extra interest wherever we went, but he was also wonderful at educating people on the benefits of coyotes.  I will forever be grateful to Fairwinds Forever, who helped me bury my beloved friend.

Here are the 5 bloggers that I follow regularly to keep this relay going!

Pet News and Views: Michelle Hollow is the founder of this informative blog. Pet News and Views covers animal welfare, people who work with and for animals, pet care, and stories on pets and wildlife. We know you’ll love it.

Good News for Pets:  This blog is about what’s happening in the pet world , both from a veterinary and pet owner perspective.  Lea-Ann O”Hare Germinder, APR, Fellow PRSA is an accomplished expert in the field of public relations and has provided strategic counsel to help educate the public about many issues.  This blog is an extension of http://www.goodnewsforpets.com and often represents her viewpoints on matters of interest and concern to the veterinary community and pet owning public.

Bessie Mac:  An author, animal rescuer and general all around good person – Bessie Mac is a person I’m proud to read often. If you haven’t picked up her book, Holly’s Story, you should.

Dog Tipper: This site was created by Paris Permenter and John Bigley, a husband-wife team of professional writers and lifelong dog lovers based in the Texas Hill Country. They launched DogTipper the year they adopted two young rescue dogs, Tiki and Irie. Together they have created a massive website of amazing information that you’re sure to find helpful and informative.

Canidae: Responsible Pet Ownership: This is a group of writers who have created some amazing pet articles that come out daily. The articles are timely, informative and entertaining. I think you’ll like them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

