Posted by: petsweekly | August 1, 2011

Finding Inspiration

Iron Springs ResortAs you probably know, we have just returned from a much-needed vacation to the wilds of the Pacific Northwest. One of the things that I learned while I was gone is the importance of finding inspiration through vacation, breaks, blogs and more. Work is important, but so is having the ability to relax – and I haven’t had that in a good, long time.

Maybe it was five days of being rocked to sleep on a 65-foot yacht, or being surrounded by patches of raspberries that grow wild on the side of the road. It could have been the light reflecting through old growth forests and pine trees that grow as tall as buildings, or perhaps standing in front of miles of white beaches and staring at the Pacific ocean as sand dollars washed up near my bare feet. It may have just been as simple as getting away from the dark, dingy office during the stifling desert summer…

Whatever it was, I came back refreshed, ready to write, ready to update PetsWeekly, and ready to finish the FINAL edit of that novel I’ve been working on for a year.

While away, I was able to catch up on some reading. Novels, blogs, friends websites, the news… it didn’t really matter. I had hoped that I would be inspired to write while I was away, but mostly I found inspiration on writing in reading.

That said, I wanted to share a few of my favorites. Perhaps a quick glance through some of these will inspire you to do some writing as well.

Travel and Doing the Impossible:

  • Chris Guillebeau – The Art of NonConformity: This man has traveled the world on pennies. He never misses a deadline and awlays creates inspiring posts that remind you that nothing is impossible and our only limitation is our self.
  • Cheryl Richardson – author: Cheryl always updates once per week with a self-improvement topic that is sure to inspire.  Her website is also fun to navigate and I highly recommend the “Touch of Grace” application that is a great pick-me-up between posts.

Writing:

  • The Deadline Dames: A very inspiring and frank look at the world of publishing in urban fantasy. I especially love this blog because several of my favorite authors are the founders and bloggers – that includes Rachel Vincent, Keri Arthur, Rinda Elliot, Lilith SaintCrow, and Devon Monk. They always provide valuable writing advice that help you improve your writing and allow you to reach a bigger audience.
  • Guide to Literary Agents: This is a great blog because it offers an insiders look at the publishing world and covers such topics as “Building a platform” and “Using prologues.” Each day provides a different topic, discusses how other authors have reached success and inspires you to work a little harder.

Pets:

  • TheTiniestTiger: Written by a cat, for cat lovers, Gracey the Cat is a brilliant writer who never ceases to entertain with her feline antics. She travels, educates, has special alerts that let everyone know when her food bowl is empty, and is a wonderful strategist.  You’ll be very entertained with all of her posts.
  • Canidae Responsible Pet Ownership: This is a great blog to subscribe to because the authors come up with creative, inspiring pet-related topics every day. I’m a little biased as I used to write for them before life got away from me, but even without me (smile) they still continue to bring up amazing little tidbits of information and expand on them each day.

While I read a lot of blogs, these are definitely some of my favorites. Building a cross-genre platform can get a little tricky and also be a little overwhelming. Like everyone else, I can use whatever inspiration I can find!

Responses

  1. Thank you so much!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

