Posted by: petsweekly | June 22, 2008

We’re Back!

We’re back from a very quick, yet very enjoyable, trip to Mexico (sigh) and I am spending the day missing our neighboring country. Why everyone wants to leave there is beyond me. Americans spend our time trying to get in, Mexicans spend their time trying to leave. But, after a look at their animals and living conditions,  I can understand part of it. Life is a lot better in a resort…

Anyway – prior to leaving, my neighbor and I did a TNR (that’s Trap/Neuter/Release for you novices) in our neighborhood. Final numbers for the night of trapping were 17 cats spayed/neutered and 38 kittens under the age of 8 wks recovered. The adults all did great – they made it through surgery and are living life happily as free-roaming, altered adults who are no longer breeding. The kittens, on the other hand…

Well, we did pretty well thanks to AZ Cats and Circle L Ranch. We were able to alter, vaccinate, and adopt out 15 of the little ones; the others were simply too tiny. As a result, we have 23 left in foster care being treated for malnutrition (what mom can keep up with that kind of demand?!) and being vaccinated. I am happy to report that we have 23 very healthy, very socialized, very calm and very cute kittens that we are able to adopt out.

There are pics of many of them in my “pics” section of MySpace. I’m trying to get the section updated with new photos (they’ve grown so much!), and the second I do, you’ll be the first to know. (It’s been a little busy as we return to an actual workload). However, if anyone knows of someone who would be interested in giving these babies a happy home, please contact me. The shelters are very full due to kitten season, so my neighbor and I have opted to foster the little ones for awhile. They are going to be wonderful little cats who wil bring years of life and love to your home.

And with that, I’m back to the grind… I have deadlines to meet, homework to complete, pets to – well, pet – and work to return too. Hoping all is well and that my friends and family will forgive me being out of touch. Life is challenging as usual!

Leave a Reply

Categories

